About APRA

    APRA History: 1990

    APRA Highlights

    March 1990InezBergquist.gif
    APRA Service and Writing awards created.

    Information Prospector Excellence in Prospect Research Award
    Jay Frost, "The Route to the Golden Temple: Identifying Japanese Prospects in the Era of Good Corporate Citizenship"

    APRA Service Award
    Inez Bergquist (pictured)

    Board Members
    John Gliha, President
    Lyn Day, Vice President
    Joan M. Garrow, Membership
    Judy Jacobs, Conference Chair
    Sandra Johnson, Treasurer
    Ann Marie Dillon Leahy, Newsletter/Publicity
    Jacqueline Elliott Robbins, Secretary
    Sam Ross, Professional Development
    Inez W. Bergquist, Past President

    August 16–18, 19901990small.jpg
    600 attend APRA 3rd National Conference in Oak Brook, Illinois.

    • Keynotes: Warren Heeman, Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations, University of Chicago, and Immediate Past Chair of CASE; Michael Josephson, president of The Josephson Institute for Advanced Studies in Ethics; Jeanne B. Jenkins, Senior Vice President of Barnes & Roche, Inc.
    • Conference Chair: Paul Pibbenow

    December 1990
    Membership exceeds 1,000 with members in 48 states and Canada.

    World Headlines

    • Michael Milken Pleads Guilty to Securities Fraud; Broker Drexel Burnham Lambert Files for Bankruptcy
    • Iraq Invades Kuwait
    • Boris Yeltsin Elected President of Russian Federation
    • East and West Germany are Re-United
    • British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher Resigns
    • Continental Airlines Files for Bankruptcy

    Dow Jones

    • High — 3,000
    • Low — 2,365

    Forbes' World's Richest — Top Three

    1. Yoshiaki Tsutsumi; Japan; land, railroads, resorts; $16 billion
    2. Taikichiro Mori; Japan; property development; $14.6 billion
    3. Sam Walton and family; U.S.; retailing; $13.3 billion

    Click the years below to read more APRA history.

    1987    1988    1989    1990    1991    1992    1993    1994    1995    1996    1997

    1998    1999    2000    2001    2002    2003    2004    2005    2006    2007    2008

    2009    2010    2011    2012