About APRA

Apra Awards 

Apra is proud to recognize industry accomplishments through several awards. Winners will be recognized at Prospect Development 2018. Apra would like to thank the Awards Committee for its work in selecting this year's winners from a strong pool of candidates!  View the Apra Past Awards Winners page for a list of previous award recipients.

Apra Scholarship

The 2018 Apra Scholarship is sponsored by iWave Information Systems.

In support of the Apra goal to promote professional growth, Apra's Scholarship Award ensures accessibility to educational programming by awarding a scholarship to a prospect development professional based on financial need and professional merit. In review of applications, the selection committee considers professional achievements, proven leadership within and outside their organization, and volunteer participation with local/regional groups. Selection is weighted on both merit and financial need.

The Apra Scholarship covers the costs of conference registration, accommodation (up to four nights) and travel expenses (not to exceed U.S. $1,000) plus a one-year membership with Apra International.

The 2018 Apra Scholarship recipient is Danielle Henderson, Associate Director of Prospect Research and Management, LSU Foundation

About Danielle

Danielle Henderson serves as a Prospect Research Associate with the Office ofNienaber Danielle LSU6999.jpg Research and Prospect Management at the LSU Foundation. She directly supports seven of the foundation’s 30 development officers with their prospect research needs including proactive research, prospecting, ratings, bios, and in-depth analysis of the fundraisers’ prospect pools. In addition, Danielle supports three Leadership Annual Giving officers with portfolio maintenance, helping to provide a clean pipeline for major gift prospects to be identified through the program. She is also the primary researcher for the Office of Corporate and Foundation Relations and sits on the Provost Corporate Council, providing advanced research and advising strategy for key university corporate prospects.

Danielle has been a part of the LSU Foundation team for over 10 years, serving in multiple roles including Assistant to the Vice President for Development, and CFR Research Portfolio Manager. She is excited to be a part of a dynamic development enterprise that has made huge strides in furthering the advancement of philanthropy for higher education at her alma mater, Louisiana State University.

Apra Margaret Fuhry Award

Established in 1998, this award is given to an Apra member based on his or her leadership, mentorship, volunteerism and dedication to professional development. Apra's 2018 Margaret Fuhry Award grants a full conference scholarship, including registration, transportation and hotel accommodations. A committee of Apra members will select one (1) Apra Margaret Fuhry Award recipient and the award will be presented at Prospect Development 2018 in Pittsburgh, PA. 

The 2018 Margaret Fuhry Grant recipient is Stephen Rowe, Australian National University

About Stephen

Stephen has worked in prospect development for just over 10 years now, starting IMG_1721 StephenRS.jpg‘across the ditch’ (the Tasman Sea) at the University of Auckland, New Zealand in 2010, before making the big move to the University of Sydney, Australia in 2011, and what many might call the smaller move to the nation’s capital Canberra in 2012 to work at the Australian National University.  Stephen gradually became interested in furthering the profession of prospect development in about 2014 when the first Australian conference or ‘forum’ was hosted at ANU. The interest hasn’t stopped since! When he isn’t working, Stephen is walking his two dogs, watching cricket or trying not to sit on more committees.  

Apra Professional of the Year Award

The 2018 Apra Professional of the Year Award is sponsored by DonorSearch.

This award was established in 1999 and is open to all Apra members. Formerly known as the Researcher of the Year award, it recognizes an outstanding fundraising professional who has made a significant positive impact on his or her organization's success in fulfilling its mission. The award is intended to recognize the skills, talents and accomplishments of a member in our profession who has gone above and beyond the scope of their core duties and played a leadership role in their organization.

The Apra Professional of the Year award recipient receives a full complimentary conference registration and accommodations at the conference hotel.

The 2018 Apra Professional of the Year recipient is Tiffany Calhoun, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

About Tiffany

Tiffany Calhoun is the senior advisor of prospect development for ALSAC, the tc_headshot_bl1.jpgfundraising and awareness organization for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Memphis. At St. Jude, donor dollars help fuel the pioneering research and lifesaving care for children around the world with cancer and other life-threatening diseases.

In her almost four years with the Gift Planning department, Tiffany has worked on both the prospect management and prospect research teams. Her efforts are now focused on relationship mapping strategy, overarching prospect development initiatives, and principal gifts research support.

In her current role, Tiffany provides the solid foundation necessary to develop and nurture strong relationships between St. Jude and its donors, including individuals, foundations, and charitable trusts. The mission of St. Jude—Finding Cures. Saving Children.—gives an urgency to the work she does. It costs approximately $1 billion each year to run St. Jude, and the majority of that must come from generous donors.

Tiffany is an active member of Apra and currently serves as membership director for the MidSouth chapter. She earned a bachelor’s degree in Spanish and a master’s degree in library/information science.   

Apra Distinguished Service Award

The 2018 Apra Distinguished Service Award is sponsored by WealthEngine.

Established in 1990, the Distinguished Service Award honors an individual who has enhanced both the prospect development profession and Apra through exceptional contributions beyond his/her daily paid work. The award takes into account professional competencies and personal competencies (contributions that facilitate learning and talents that are exceptional). Self-nominations are permitted.

The 2018 Apra Distinguished Service Award recipient is Michael Quevli, Blackbaud Target Analytics.

About Michael

Michael Quevli joined Blackbaud in 2008 after working for a number of years in Quevli Bio Pic.jpgnonprofit prospect development. Michael began his career in prospect research in 1996 at AIDS Project Los Angeles.  He was also at the Keck School of Medicine of USC for seven years prior to joining Kintera in 2005. Michael also served 2 consecutive terms for the California Advancement Researchers Association (CARA) where during his tenure membership grew from 165 to 300. He served on the board of directors for Apra for nine consecutive years and was president in 2012 and is currently serving on the board of trustees for Apra. Finally, Michael served for three consecutive terms on the Stephens College Alumnae Association Board. He is a frequent speaker for Apra and taught at the College of Extended Learning at Cal State Northridge in prospect research and prospect management. Michael was honored and delighted to be the keynote speaker for NEDRA conference this year. Michael is the recipient of the 2004 CARA Service Award and the first male to receive the Stephens College Alumnae Service Award (2007).  

If you have questions about Apra awards, please view our Frequently Asked Questions page, or contact Apra Headquarters.