About APRA

APRA History: 1989

APRA Highlights

February 1989
First meeting of the elected national board of directors held at Arizona State University.

Board Members
John Gliha, President
Thom Carlson, Professional Development (resigned during the year)
Lyn Day, Vice President
Ann Marie Dillon, Newsletter/Publicity
Joan M. Garrow, Membership Director
Judy Jacobs, Conference Chair
Sandra Johnson, Treasurer
Jacqueline Elliott Robbins, Secretary
Sam Ross, Professional Development (appointed to term vacated by Thom Carlson)

August 24–26, 1989
350 attend the second APRA Conference, Planting, Cultivating, and Harvesting, in Indianapolis, Indiana.
Keynote: Eugene R. Tempel, Vice President of the Indiana University Foundation
Conference Chair: Judy Jacobs

August 1989
APRA has 639 members. 

October 1989
President John Gliha and David M. Lawson, President of The Information Prospector, Inc., (pictured) announced the creation of "The Information Prospector Award for Excellence in Prospect Research." The award was designed to recognize significant contributions to the research profession; the author of the winning paper would receive a $1,000 prize; second- and third-place prizes were $500 and $250, respectively.

World Headlines

  1. Exxon "Valdez" Spills 11 Million Barrels of Oil off Coast of Alaska
  2. Hundreds Die in Tiananmem Square as Troops Open Fire on Demonstrators
  3. Dow drops 190 points on October 13, second worst drop in history
  4. "Junk Bond" King Michael Milken Earned $550 Million in 1987 From Drexel Lambert

Dow Jones

  1. High — 2,791
  2. Low — 2,168

Forbes' World's Richest — Top Three

  1. Yoshiaki Tsutsumi; Japan; land, railroads, resorts; $15 billion
  2. Taikichiro Mori; Japan; property development; $14.2 billion
  3. Sam Walton and family; U.S.; Wal-Mart; $8.7 billion

Click the years below to read more APRA history.

1987    1988    1989    1990    1991    1992    1993    1994    1995    1996    1997

1998    1999    2000    2001    2002    2003    2004    2005    2006    2007    2008

2009    2010    2011    2012