About APRA

APRA History: 2000

APRA Highlights

March 2000
Based on the recommendations from a task force, the APRA Board of Directors was restructured to include an executive committee and service area-based teams.

Board Members
2000small.jpgMichel Hudson, President
Michael Seymour, Secretary/Treasurer
Karen Greene, Foundation Chair/Board Liaison
Education and Professional Development Team — Diane Crane (VP), Randy Lakeman, Joan Reiss
Marketing Team — Christine Lockmon (VP), Mark Cotleur, Julie Yurko
Member Services Team — Christina Pulawski (VP), Cecilia Hogan, Elizabeth McHugh

July 26–29, 2000
Over 900 attended 13th Annual International Conference, California Gold Rush 2000, in Anaheim, California. A free workshop on volunteer and leadership skills was held, and an awards banquet, an open period for small group activities and affinity group meetings were added. APRA logo merchandise (shirts, caps and pins) was offered for sale in the Exhibit Hall.

  • Keynote: John Perry Barlow, co-founder of the Electronic Frontier Foundation
  • Conference Volunteers: Diane Crane, Planning Chair; Randy Lakeman, Curriculum Chair; Joan Reiss, Logistics Chair; Dori Watanabe and Kim Signoret Paar, Resource Center Co-Chairs
    Lynda Coleman, Dean of Volunteers;  Shirley Gottschalk and Dennis Petticoffer, Hospitality Co-Chairs; Track Chairs were Valerie Anastasio, Jill Britton, Barbara Fanning, Lance Johnsen, Shelby McClintock, Christine Mildner, Pamela Smith and Carol Thorp
  • 2000Resource.jpgAPRA Service Award: (sponsored by Bentz Whaley Flessner) Joseph Boeke
  • APRA Foundation Margaret Fuhry Grant: Kevin Bender
  • Researcher of the Year Award: (sponsored by Thomson Financial Wealth Identification) Sarah McCarthy

Writers and Editors Club was created from a group of about 100 volunteers.

Connections Themes
The APRA Skills Sets, Poonam Prasad; Information Logistics, Chris Mildner; Workplace Issues, Karen Chaffee; and Evaluating Private Assets, Shelby McClintock and Cecilia Hogan

Chapter Highlights
APRA-Northwest and PREP-APRA were formed. APRA approved chapter grants for APRA-Michigan and APRA-Indiana. A Chapter Presidents’ e-mail (Chapter News) was established.

APRA International partnered with the APRA-New York Chapter for a booth at the NSFRE Fund Raising Day in New York. APRA worked with the Council for Advancement and Support of Education to present CASE’s Major Donor Research Conference in Washington, D.C.

July 2000
A password-protected members area and a self-guided job posting section were added. A white paper on privacy was released by the APRA Board. The APRA Foundation raised $7,410 from conference attendees to help with scholarships and the Margaret Fuhry Endowment. APRA membership increased by the largest jump in over 10 years to 1,900.

World Headlines

  • Close U.S. Presidential Election is Played Out in Florida and U.S. Supreme Courts
  • Slobodan Milosevic Ousted as Yugoslavian's Leader
  • Researchers Map the Human Genome
  • Judge Finds Microsoft is a Monopoly
  • Russian Submarine Kursk Sinks
  • The Dot.Com Industry Implodes
  • "I Love You" Computer Virus Infects Millions of Computers

Dow Jones

  • High — 11,723
  • Low — 9,862

Forbes' World's Richest — Top Three

  1. Bill Gates; U.S.; computer software; $60 billion
  2. Lawrence Ellison; U.S.; computer software; $47 billion
  3. Paul Allen; U.S.; computer software; $28 billion

Click the years below to read more APRA history.

1987    1988    1989    1990    1991    1992    1993    1994    1995    1996    1997

1998    1999    2000    2001    2002    2003    2004    2005    2006    2007    2008

2009    2010    2011    2012