About APRA

APRA History: 2007

APRA Highlights

May 2007MARClogosm.jpg
APRA partners with several chapters to produce the MARC 2007 Conference in Washington, D.C. APRA membership increases to over 2,100 with representation from across the U.S. and seven other countries.

Symposium Topics
Prospect Identification: Discovering Donors through Proactive Research and Data-Driven Analysis, New Researcher’s Symposium (also offered in conjunction with the Annual Conference for the first time), and APRA Management and Leadership Summit for Senior Professionals.

Virtual Seminars
New live and replay formats are offered; topics include Promoting the Value of Research: Using Data for Metrics and Measurement, Corporate and Foundation Research, Qualifying Major Gift Prospects in the Field, Supporting Your Organization's Mega Campaign, Approaches for Estimating Gift Capacity and Developing Rating Systems and Habits for Highly Effective Researchers.

Board Members
Pamela Poland, President
Chris Cannon, Secretary/Treasurer
Education and Professional Development Team — Elizabeth Crabtree (VP), Hodan Hassan, Deborah Mueller, Karen Stitsworth
Information Resources Team — Janice Cunning (VP), Mark DeFilippis, Lisa Howley
Marketing and Membership Services Team — David Shanton (VP), David Eberly, Michael Quevli

July 25–28, 20072007small.jpg
More than 1,200 people attended the 20th Anniversary Conference, Transforming the Future of Fundraising, held in Chicago, Illinois. 

  • A special expert panel from peer organizations such as CASE, AFP and AHP replaced the keynote.
  • A new track on Financial Research was added
  • New Researchers Symposium was offered in conjunction with the Conference.
  • Conference Volunteers: Hodan Hassan and Karen Stitsworth, Conference Co-Chairs; Steve Knight and Karen Maki, Volunteer Co-Chairs; Kim Montroy and Jennifer Fry, Hospitality Co-Chairs; Deborah Mueller and Kelly Johnson, Roundtable Coordinators; Curriculum Planning Committee: Barbara Fanning, Christopher Hughes, Vicky Martin, Erin Moran, Deborah Mueller, Chris Pipkins and Robert Scott
  • APRA Distinguished Service Award (sponsored by Bentz Whaley Flessner): Barbara Fanning
  • APRA Foundation Margaret Fuhry Grant: Tom Hampsey
  • Researcher of the Year Award (sponsored by WealthEngine): Jennifer Shimp-Bowerman

Introduces interactive online polls. First online poll was for the article: "Do the Math: Using Key Performance Indicators to Benchmark Fundraising Operations" by Chris Pipkins, from the Spring 2007 issue, Research by the Numbers: Demonstrating Return on Investment.

20th Anniversary Celebration
Was planned by a committee of long-standing APRA members including Elizabeth Crabtree, Inez Bergquist, Mark DeFilippis, Kathleen Foley, Michel Hudson, Kelly Johnson, Margo Knight, Liz McHugh, Pamela Poland, Michael Seymour and David Shanton.20_Anniversary_Logo_sm.jpg

APRA launched a new blog (hosted by Elizabeth Crabtree) to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the International Conference and engage the community in sharing fun memories and stories. She also uses the blog to cover the programs and events of the 2007 Conference in Chicago and answers member questions.

World Headlines

  • Former vice president Al Gore and the United Nations' Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change are awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for their work educating the world about human-caused climate change and for outlining ways to reverse global warming.
  • Marion Jones, who won five medals at the 2000 Olympics, three of them gold, pleads guilty to making false statements to federal agents about her use of performance-enhancing drugs.
  • Cristina Fernández de Kirchner is the first woman in Argentina to be elected president. She succeeds her husband, Néstor Kirchner.
  • Report on steroids rocks professional baseball. Players include Roger Clemens, Chuck Knoblauch, and Eric Gagne.
  • Former Pakistani prime minister Benazir Bhutto dies at a campaign rally in Rawalpindi, killed in a suicide attack.

Dow Jones

  • High — 14,165
  • Low — 12,050

Forbes' World's Richest — Top Three

  1. William Gates III; U.S.; computer software; $56.0 billion
  2. Warren Buffett; U.S.; stock market; $52.0 billion
  3. Carlos Slim Helú; Mexico; telecommunications; $49.0 billion

Click the years below to read more APRA history.

1987    1988    1989    1990    1991    1992    1993    1994    1995    1996    1997

1998    1999    2000    2001    2002    2003    2004    2005    2006    2007    2008

2009    2010    2011    2012