About APRA

APRA History: 2009

APRA Highlights

Symposia Topics
Prospect Data Mining and Modeling, New Researchers Symposium, and Advanced Relationship Management Symposium.

July 29–August 1, 2009
22nd Annual International Conference: Inspiring Excellence was held in Boston.

  • Conference materials were available online, replacing printed handouts as a commitment to "going green" as an organization.
  • CFRE Continuing Education Credits were offered for attendees.
  • Conference included an optional event for a Duck Tour of Boston.
  • Keynote Presentation: "The Changing Landscape of Wealth: 2009 World Wealth Report Highlights" by Ileana van der Linde
  • Conference Volunteer Co-Chairs: Heather Reisz, The Museum of Fine Arts Boston; Rick Snyder, The Helen Brown Group
  • Hospitality Co-Chairs: Anne Brownlee, Harvard University; Phoebe Slanetz, New England Aquarium
  • Roundtable Co-Coordinators: Jeffrey Ouellette, Brown University; Karen “Kay” Farrell, Purdue University
  • APRA Distinguished Service Award (sponsored by Bentz Whaley Flessner): David Lawson, WorkingPhilanthropy.com
  • Professional of the Year Award (sponsored by WealthEngine): Jennifer Ting, University of Michigan
  • APRA Scholarship Recipient: Sharla Donohue, Courage Center

2009 Curriculum Planning Committee and Conference Ambassadors
Susan Faraone, Conference Chair, University of Chicago
Amber Countis, Tufts University
Heather Flannagan, Iowa Health Systems
Michael Foote, Dartmouth College
August Freda, University of Notre Dame
Timothy Growley, Chautauqua Foundation
Kelly Johnson, Hazelden Foundation
Deborah Mueller, Minnesota Medical Foundation at the University of Minnesota
James Rygg, City of Hope
Dina Zelleke, Harvard University

Board Members
President: Elizabeth Crabtree, Brown University
Secretary/Treasurer: Christopher Cannon, Bentz Whaley Flessner
Vice Presidents: Helen Brown, The Helen Brown Group LLC
Hodan Hassan, U.S. Fund for UNICEF
Deborah Mueller, Minnesota Medical Foundation at the University of Minnesota
Directors: David Eberly, Children’s Hospital Trust Boston
Lisa Howley, Johns Hopkins Institutions
Kelly Johnson, Hazelden Foundation
Michael Quevli, Target Analytics, a Blackbaud Company
Deborah Reinhardt-Youmans, Le Moyne College
Robert Scott, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
David Shanton, Baruch College
Karen Stitsworth, St. Olaf College

World Headlines

  • US Airways plane crash-lands on frozen Hudson River, outside New York City. All 155 passengers and crew escape unhurt.
  • Barack Obama sworn in as the 44th president of the United States, the first African-American leader of the country.
  • Obama signs unprecedented $787 billion stimulus for recession-plagued economy.
  • U.S. car giant General Motors enters bankruptcy; exits six weeks later under government control.
  • Gunman opens fire on soldiers at Fort Hood, Texas, killing 13 people. Army psychiatrist charged with shootings.
  • Afghanistan begins drawn out presidential elections marred by allegations of widespread vote-rigging. Hamid Karzai sworn in to new, five-year term on November 19.
  • King of Pop Michael Jackson dies from the hospital anaesthetic Propofil intended to help him with insomnia just days before a planned comeback tour starting in London.

Forbes' World's Richest — Top Three

  1. William Gates III; U.S.; computer software; $40 billion
  2. Warren Buffett; U.S.; stock market; $37 billion
  3. Carlos Slim Helu; Mexico; telecommunications; $35 billion

Click the years below to read more APRA history.

1987    1988    1989    1990    1991    1992    1993    1994    1995    1996    1997

1998    1999    2000    2001    2002    2003    2004    2005    2006    2007    2008

2009    2010    2011    2012