About APRA

APRA History: 2002

APRA Highlights

2002annivwall2.jpgFebruary 2002
First Research Officer Training Class held at Doubletree Chicago O’Hare (IL). This two-day mini-conference covered more advanced research topics than the APRA Boot Camp, the second of which was held in 2002. ROTC was also presented at the Mid-Atlantic Researchers Conference as a pilot program.

March 2002
A strategic planning session was held by the Board. New Vision and Mission statements, along with four strategic initiatives were approved. A new Web site design and structure was completed.

Board Members
Randy Lakeman, President
Michael Seymour, Secretary/Treasurer
Education and Professional Development Team — Christina Pulawski (VP), Barbara Fanning, Pamela Poland, Poonam Prasad
Marketing Team — Julie Yurko (VP), Mark Cotleur, Mark DeFilippis
2002small.jpgMember Services Team — Elizabeth McHugh (VP), Cecilia Hogan, Shelby McClintock

August 14–17, 2002
Over 1,000 attended the 15th Annual International Conference (sponsored by Marts & Lundy ES Solutions), Research on the Hill: Governing the Future of Fund-Raising, in Washington, D.C. A second Advanced Research track was added, and a 15th Anniversary Timeline and Chapter Celebration displays were included. Leaders in Research Summits, for researchers with 10 years of experience, were held for the first time.

  • Keynotes: Eugene Tempel, Executive Director of the Center for Philanthropy at Indiana University; and Leo Arnoult, chair, American Association of Fundraising Council Trust for Philanthropy
  • Conference Volunteers: Christina Pulawski, Conference Chair; Barbara Fanning, Logistics Chair; Pamela Poland, Program Chair; Sarah Parnum Cadbury and Debra Erikson, Resource Center Co-Chairs; Anne Barnett Rhodes, Dean of Volunteers; Sara Edwards Asuncion, Hospitality Chair; Track Chairs were Shelley Brown, Claire Collier, Janice Cunning, Susanne Griego, Carol Hall, Kathy Henderson, Margo Knight, Barbara Schmertz, David Shanton, Peg Shelton, Phoebe Slanetz and Hillevi Wyman
  • Philanthropic Leadership Forum, with leaders from APRA, CASE, AFP and AHP, was held at The National Press Club, with coverage on C-SPAN. The topic was “Maintaining Donor Confidence: Accountability and Transparency in the Nonprofit Sector.” There were nearly 70 members of the philanthropic community and media in attendance.
  • 2002volunteer.jpgAPRA Distinguished Service Award: (sponsored by Bentz Whaley Flessner) Napoleon Hendrix III
  • Researcher of the Year Award: (sponsored by Prospect Information Network, LLC) Sheri Lazare
  • First Volunteer Prize, won by a drawing made available to all volunteers, was awarded to Wai Wong-Lai.

Connections Themes
Real Life vs. a Perfect World: Research in Development, Lisa Thomas; Other Duties as Assigned, Robert Boley; The State of the Profession: A Look Backward and Forward, Michel Hudson; and Campaigns, Eric Hatling.

Chapter Highlights
APRA-Research Utah was approved as a new chapter.

December 2002
Over 2,100 members were part of APRA from the US, Canada, Egypt, France, Ireland, Northern Ireland, England, Scotland, Spain, and Australia.

World Headlines

  • White House Accuses Iraqi Leader Saddam Hussein of Developing Weapons of Mass Destruction
  • Two Snipers Kill 10 victims in Washington, D.C., Area
  • Terrorist Bombing in Bali Kills 180
  • Chechen Militants Siege on Moscow Theater Ends With 170 Dead
  • Corporate Scandals: Enron, Arthur Andersen, Merrill Lynch, WorldCom
  • Wi-Fi Internet Access Expands

Dow Jones

  • High — 10,607
  • Low — 7,528

Forbes' World's Richest — Top Three

  1. Bill Gates; U.S.; computer software; $52.8 billion
  2. Warren Buffett; U.S.; stock market; $35 billion
  3. Theo and Karl Albrecht; Germany; retail; $30.4 billion

Click the years below to read more APRA history.

1987    1988    1989    1990    1991    1992    1993    1994    1995    1996    1997

1998    1999    2000    2001    2002    2003    2004    2005    2006    2007    2008

2009    2010    2011    2012