About APRA

APRA History: 1994

APRA Highlights

August 1994
Members vote to change the organization name to the Association of Professional Researchers for Advancement.

Board Members
Jon Thorsen, President
Shelley Brown, Second Vice President/Conference Chair
Barbara Fleming, Secretary
Jay Frost, Communications Director
Beverly Goodwin, Ethics Chair
Napoleon Hendrix, Conference Vice-Chair
Margo Knight, Membership Services Chair
Kay Maves, Treasurer
Paulette Persinger, First Vice President

August 17–20, 1994
700 attend Discovering Information Strategies for a New World in Cambridge, Massachusetts, the first Conference designated as international. APRA worked in partnership with members of NEDRA to plan and provide volunteers for this conference. Attendees flocked to an information-packed session about The Internet and Prospect Research, presented by Christopher Felker of MIT, and danced the night away at a New England clambake.

  • Keynotes; Gwenn Weaver, Deputy Assistant Director for Information Management in the Executive Office of the President of the United States; and Josiah Spaulding Jr., President & CEO, Wang Center for the Performing Arts
  • Shelley Brown, Conference Chair; Napoleon Hendrix, Conference Vice Chair; Ann Castle, Model Librarian; Robert Millar, Computer Lab
  • Writing Award: Rika Beckley and Margaret Elliot, "Treasure Hunting for Philanthropic Partnerships with Small Business"
  • APRA Service Award: Lyn Day
  • A special year-end issue of Connections is produced with the 1994 Excellence in Writing on Prospect Research prizewinning papers.

World Headlines

  • O.J. Simpson Arrested in Murder of Wife and Her Friend
  • Ken Starr Takes Over as Special Prosecutor in Clinton Whitewater Dealings
  • Richard Nixon Dies

Dow Jones

  • High — 3,978
  • Low — 3,593

Forbes' World's Richest — Top Three

  1. Walton Family; U.S.; retailing; $23.6 billion
  2. Mars Family; U.S.; candy; $9.6 billion
  3. du Pont Family; U.S.; DuPont; $9 billion
    (William H. Gates III was still 6th with $8.2 billion)

Click the years below to read more APRA history.

1987    1988    1989    1990    1991    1992    1993    1994    1995    1996    1997

1998    1999    2000    2001    2002    2003    2004    2005    2006    2007    2008

2009    2010    2011    2012