Apra Awards

2023 Apra Margaret Fuhry Award Application

2023 Apra Margaret Fuhry Award Explanation

Funded by the Apra Foundation

Fuhry was the Director of Advancement Services at Webster University in St. Louis, Missouri, a position created for her after serving four years as Director of Development Research at Webster. Margaret began her career in prospect research in 1988 at the Saint Louis Art Museum as a research associate. From 1990 until 1992, she was a development officer for grants and research at the Missouri Historical Society. 

In February 1991, Margaret was asked by Lyn Day to join the Apra Board of Directors to serve out the term of another board member who had resigned. Margaret served as professional development director, conference vice chair, and was the 1993 second vice president/conference chair of the Sixth Apra National Conference held in St. Louis. In addition to Apra, she was a member of the Apra-Missouri chapter and the St. Louis Chapter of NSFRE (now AFP). After her untimely death, a grant was established in her honor through Apra International.

The Apra Margaret Fuhry Award helps defer costs of conference registration, accommodation, and travel expenses, not to exceed $1,000 USD. A committee of Apra members will select one (1) Apra Margaret Fuhry Award recipient and the award will be presented at Prospect Development 2023.


Applicants for the Apra Foundation Margaret Fuhry Award must demonstrate a commitment to the profession of prospect development through leadership, mentorship, and volunteerism. To be eligible, an applicant must be employed in prospect development and/or related fields in a non-consulting capacity and must be a current Apra member. Applicants must have volunteered within two years of the submission due date.

One letter of support must accompany the application. 

Nominations are now closed. 

Please contact info@aprahome.org with any questions.

Award selection committee members will abstain from scoring any nominees that work at their same organization. Current selection committee members are not eligible to receive award.